labridget
Reviews
12
Featured Reviews
0
Average Rating
4.6
Recommended
0%
Helpful Votes
40
Active Since
01.20.10
Last Review
08.30.16
08.30.16

SEPHORA COLLECTION Pro Allover Powder Brush #61

What it is:A perfect brush for applying your favorite powder products with a smooth finish.What it does:Sweep and blend loose or compact powders all over the face and décolleté with this large, round brush. The high bristle density and domed shape grab and buff powder and mineral products evenly for a gorgeous complexion. The synthetic fibers can be used wet or dry and the wood handle fits comfortably in the hand for increased control. What else you need to know:This product is not tested on animals.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Tone:Dark
Eye Color:Hazel
Age:35-44
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My favorite brush
-08.30.16
Quick Take: synthetic hair
This is the best brush for applying finishing or translucent powders. It is big, fluffy, and soft. I got this on sale which makes it an even better bargain.
I was looking for a large brush and this fit the bill!
NOTE: This brush sells out quickly but be patient and check back often. You are sure to grab one when they get a new shipment.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
08.30.16

BECCA Cosmetics Shimmering Skin Perfector® Pressed Highlighter

What it is: An award-winning highlighter with an ultra-creamy formula that melts into skin for a natural, luminous glow.Coverage: Medium Finish: Radiant Formulation: Pressed Powder Skin Type: Normal, Dry, Combination, and Oily Highlighted Ingredients: - Ultra-Fine Multidimensional Pearls: Reflects and refracts light from every angle for a buildable, luminous glow.Ingredient Callouts: Free of sulfates SLS and SLES, parabens, formaldehydes, phthalates, mineral oil, coal tar, triclosan, and triclocarban. This product is also cruelty-free.What Else You Need to Know: Unlike traditional pressed powder highlighters, this unique formula blends luminous pearl pigments with liquid for an ultra-buttery texture. The creamy formula builds and blends seamlessly without ever looking glittery. Pure light is reflected from every angle for the most natural, luminous glow.Shining a light on mental wellness, BECCA will donate $5 from the sale of all shades of full-size Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed® Pressed Highlighter in the U.S. to the Jed Foundation (up to $100,000 between May 1 and July 31, 2020). To learn more about the Jed Foundation, please visit jedcares.org/becca.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Tone:Dark
Eye Color:Hazel
Age:35-44
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty highlighter
-08.30.16
Quick Take: soft shimmer
This is my first highlighter and I like it. I was looking for something that produced a slow glow and did not leave me looking like a glitter ball. My Sephora associated brought this to me and suggested Topaz and I love it.
I would highly recommend this product and it is easy to use.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
08.30.16

Black Up Anti Shine Loose Powder

What it is: A long-lasting, anti-shine loose powder that creates a natural-looking matte result. What it does: The Anti Shine Loose Powder offers five different shades to satisfy all women of color. Thanks to its exceptionally silky and fine texture, this powder blends perfectly with the skin. Spherical powders provide an ultra-matte effect and help to control shine for a flawless makeup result that lasts throughout the day. The result is a perfectly even, matte, and illuminated complexion. What it is formulated WITHOUT: - Parabens - Sulfates - Phthalates What else you need to know: black|Up is the French upscale beauty brand dedicated to women of color. The Paris-based line is known for its range of professional-quality makeup that is developed by women of color and answers the specific needs of darker skin tones.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Tone:Dark
Eye Color:Hazel
Age:35-44
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A good alternative to translucent powders
-08.30.16
Quick Take: sheer coverage
This is a perfect for women of color who don't care for the translucent powders. However, I was disappointed in it's size. It is very small compared to the other powders out there and while it does leave me with a matte finish it does not last long. My skin is oily and the shine comes thru about 30 min after application.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
08.30.16

Black Up Contour Powder

What it is: A palette entirely dedicated to the art of contouring. What it does: Custom sculpt and shape your face with this Contouring Powder. With its two matte shades and its highlighting touch, the palette Contouring Powder makes the professional technique of contouring accessible to all women. Just use the included illustration to find your face shape and customize your contouring to highlighting. This palette contains: - 2 x 0.33 oz Highlighter and Contouring Powder What it is formulated WITHOUT: - Parabens - Sulfates - Phthalates What else you need to know: Choose the Contour Powder palette that suits your skin tone (sold separately): Deep, Dark, Medium Dark, Medium, Medium Light, and Tan. black|Up is the French upscale beauty brand dedicated to women of color. The Paris-based line is known for its range of professional-quality makeup that is developed by women of color and answers the specific needs of darker skin tones.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great kit
-08.30.16
This is a great contour kit for women of color. I purchased the one from Anastasia and I have to admit I've forgotten about it since obtaining this. I especially like the highlighting shade. For a more dramatic effect I layer this over the Anastasia, but for daytime this is fine by itself. With the right brush you can't go wrong (Side note I am NW45)
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
08.24.16

SEPHORA COLLECTION PRO Contour Kabuki #82

What it is: An all-in-one sculpting and shaping brush that can be used under the eye, hollows of the cheeks, and around the jaw area. What it does:Define your best features and achieve an allover makeup look with this Pro Contour brush. Featuring an innovative design for multi-direction blending on the entire face, it allows you to seamlessly shade, contour, highlight, and blend product. Its curved-tip bristles fit into facial grooves and corners of the face for a flawless finish, making application simple with just a few strokes. What else you need to know:This product is not tested on animals.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this brush
-08.24.16
Quick Take: synthetic hair
I went thru a lot to get this brush. It is only located in Canada, but I was able to grab one in Malibu, CA. The shape or contour of this brush makes it great for applying powder contour. I don't use it exactly they way the instruct us, but it still produces a great contour in an easy fashion. It appears they revamped this brush for the USA market, but I prefer this brush because of it's shape.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
08.03.16

Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Cream Kit

What it is: A kit with three highlight and three contour shades in one easy-to-clean palette. What it does: Expertly sculpt and define your features with these highly blendable shades. A cream version of the cult-favorite original Contour Kit from Anastasia Beverly Hills, they come in Light to Deep kits to match all skin tones. What it is formulated WITHOUT: - Parabens - Sulfates - Phthalates What else you need to know: Choose the kit that matches your skin tone: Light: Fair (pure sand), Neutral (sheer peach), Banana (pale yellow), Java (mocha), Light Sculpt (sepia brown), and Havana (warm russet). Fair: Fair (pure sand), Fawn (café latte), Lustre (sheer porcelain), Mink (toasted almond), Shadow (caramel latte), and Soft Light (pale peach). Medium: Cream (golden wheat), Banana (pale yellow), Warm Coral (orange pink), Cinnamon (reddish brown), Chocolate (coconut shell), and Ash Brown (cool medium brown). Deep: Carob (deep mahogany), Chocolate (coconut shell), Coral (reddish orange), Espresso (rich chocolate), Nude (golden cream), and Rich Earth (dark golden brown).
Location:Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great starter kit
-08.03.16
This was my first contour kit purchase.
As a woman of color I find that you have to build up to get the desired affect. Nevertheless, it is very versatile; for example, you can use the coral palette as a color corrector. I don't really use the highlighting colors because they are too light and would take too much time get the desired effect.
I also tried the powder contour kit from BlackUp and got better results.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
08.03.16

SEPHORA COLLECTION PRO Foundation Brush #56

What it is: A brush with medium length and soft bristles that are densely packed-ideal for building foundation coverage.What Else You Need to Know: This brush is sheared to the perfect dome shape, and the head is densely packed for maximum control and a streak-free, airbrushed finish. It has the ability to build to full coverage and is super easy to work with-perfect all levels of artistry. Its shape is perfect for stick foundations. PRO Brush Collection, thirty brushes with the highest-quality, hand-shaped vegan synthetic bristles. The tapered artistry handles help offer ultimate control in makeup application to help you create any makeup look you desire. This brush and its holder have been developed responsibly: The paper of the packaging and the wood of the handle are made of sustainably managed forests.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Tone:Dark
Eye Color:Hazel
Age:35-44
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good all purpose brush
-08.03.16
Quick Take: synthetic hair
I use this brush to apply all kinds of products. The dense bristles allow you to apply product and build, without wasting it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
08.03.16

Black Up Nail Lacquer

What it is: A quick-drying and long-wearing, ultra-shiny nail polish. What it does: This unique Nail Lacquer collection features nude shades and timeless colors specially-designed to sublimate the hands of women of color. Each bottle is fitted with a flat brush for perfectly precise application, and the gel formula allows for fast drying time and a glossy finish. What it is formulated WITHOUT: - Parabens What else you need to know: black|Up is the French upscale beauty brand dedicated to women of color. The Paris-based line is known for its range of professional-quality makeup that is developed by women of color and answers the specific needs of darker skin tones.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Tone:Dark
Eye Color:Hazel
Age:35-44
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A beautiful brown
-08.03.16
Quick Take: long wearing
This is a lovely shade of deep or espresso brown. I find that it does blend in with my skin tone to create a "nude" look.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
08.03.16

beautyblender the original beautyblender®

What it is: An edgeless, non-disposable, high-definition cosmetic sponge applicator. What it does: The unique shape and exclusive material available only with beautyblender® ensures impeccable, streak-free application with minimum product waste. Use it with foundations, powders, and any other complexion product. Now, the award-winning makeup sponge is available in a fun, limited-edition canister-fit for any beauty queen. What else you need to know: Beautyblender’s unique material is aqua-activated™. When wet, it expands to about twice its size and becomes super soft to create an even, smooth blend and bounce, returning to its original size when it air dries. Beautyblender has chosen to use non-toxic, water-soluble dyes. For this reason, your beautyblender may shed dye for the first couple of washes-similar to a pair of blue jeans. Once you squeeze the water out of the beautyblender, the excess dye is removed as well. The dye does not transfer to the skin. Beautyblenders are hand-finished in the USA. This product is an Allure Best of Beauty award winner.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Tone:Dark
Eye Color:Hazel
Age:35-44
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must have
-08.03.16
This is the a "must have" item in your beauty arsenal. I discovered this little wonder at a Sephora make-up class and I knew I had to have it.
When properly used, your makeup blends into your skin eliminating that masked, heavily made up look. I highly recommend this item.
I personally don't see a difference between the different colors, but I like the black one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
08.03.16
Glossy Gloss To Go

SEPHORA COLLECTION Glossy Gloss To Go

What it is: A top-selling high-shine lip gloss offered in a mini travel size. What it does: Each of these mini glosses gives lips a slick and shiny wet-look effect. The clear gloss creates a glass-like finish while the pigmented glosses add a range of glistening color possibilities. All feature an ultrarich gel texture for a thick layer of very intense mirror-like shine. What else you need to know: These ultrarich glosses include HydroGrape Complex and other ingredients that provide the lips with moisture and antioxidants. This product is not tested on animals.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Tone:Dark
Eye Color:Hazel
Age:35-44
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For shiny lips
-08.03.16
I purchased this in clear and its a nice, shiny lip gloss.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
08.03.16

SEPHORA COLLECTION Pro Visionary Precision Contour #132

What it is: A brush with an expertly crafted head for subtle contouring. What it does: Short, tufted, synthetic bristles allow maximum control and perfect coverage for the face, neck, and décolleté. What else you need to know: You can apply product directly to brush head, or sweep through foundation pan for easy pickup. This product is not tested on animals.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Tone:Dark
Eye Color:Hazel
Age:35-44
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Strange Brush
-08.03.16
Quick Take: synthetic hair
I purchased this brush to use with my crème contour kit. It does pick up a maximum amount of product, which I like. On the other hand, it does take some getting used to - but once you get the hang of it - it works. I am happy with my purchase.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
01.20.10

KVD Vegan Beauty Painted Love Lipstick

What it is: A rich, full-color lipstick in a range of smoldering shades, from crimson to blood red, designed exclusively for Sephora. What it does: Painted Love Lipstick takes this signature lip color, a sophisticated red, and expands it into a range of smoldering shades-from crimson to blood red. It comes housed in a deluxe tube with a clear Lucite bottom that shows off the color inside, and the cap is stenciled with silver roses on matte black.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Eye Color:Hazel
Skin Tone:Dark
Age:35-44
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Lipstick
-01.20.10
The lipstick is a pretty deep purple. Very flattering for darker tones. It does tend to dry your lips a little. I am happy with the purchase!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.