am388
Reviews
9
Featured Reviews
0
Average Rating
4.1
Recommended
0%
Helpful Votes
29
Active Since
12.26.12
Last Review
07.06.15
07.06.15
Lift Concealer

MAKE UP FOR EVER Lift Concealer

More than just a concealer! It contains tensine, an active ingredient with skin-firming properties for the eye area, and vitamins A and E, which regenerate the skin. This multipurpose product also conceals specific, darker areas (brown spots, blotches, etc.) and can be used as a highlighter on the more prominent parts of the face (cheekbones, forehead, and chin) for added radiance. Dany's Tip: "If you have wrinkles around the mouth and eyes, apply directly into the crease, then blend with light movements into your foundation."
Location:New York, NY
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Brown
Age:25-34
I received this product as a free sample:False
I am a Sephora employee:No
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not perfect but almost there
-07.06.15
Quick Take: creamy, light coverage
I've tried tons of under eye concealers and cannot find one that doesn't crease. I have hereditary dark circles but when I don't wear makeup, there are no visible lines around my eyes. However, when I try to wear concealer to cover the dark circles, fine lines become visible.
Make Up For Ever's Lift Concealer is the best I've found so far. I still see some very faint creasing after a few hours of wear, but it's overwhelmingly better than other concealers I've tried. It's light coverage, which I prefer as it looks more natural, but something to note if you're looking for intense concealing.
Sticking with this one until I can find the miracle-working, non-creasing concealer - I know it's out there somewhere!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
07.06.15

Briogeo Don't Despair, Repair!™ Deep Conditioning Hair Mask

What it is: A weekly, clinically tested mask that strengthens damaged hair and helps prevent future damage. Hair Type: Straight, Wavy, Curly, and CoilyHair Texture: Fine, Medium, and ThickHair Concerns: - Dryness- Frizz- Damage, Split Ends, and BreakageKey Benefits: - Strengthens damaged hair- Helps prevent future damage- Clean and naturally derived, formulated 6-free™, and made with a proprietary NOVA Complex® that fortifies, nourishes, and protectsFormulation: MaskHighlighted Ingredients:- Rosehip Oil: Maintains hair hydration and controls frizz with crucial essential fatty acids.- Algae Extract: Provides minerals, amino acids, antioxidants, and vitamins that nourish and strengthen the hair and protect the scalp from free-radical damage. - B Vitamins: Improve texture, add body and sheen, and nourish hair damaged by heat or chemical treatments.Ingredient Callouts: This product is vegan, cruelty-free, and gluten-free, and comes in recyclable packaging.What Else You Need to Know: This mask has been clinically shown to boost hair strength, shine, and silkiness while improving the long-term health of damaged strands. Formulated with 97 percent naturally derived ingredients like rosehip oil, B vitamins, and algae extract, this antioxidant-rich formula restores essential hydration to dry, brittle, colored, and over-processed hair. This product is an Allure Best of Beauty award winner.Clinical Results: In a clinical study, after 2 uses: - This mask decreased hair breakage by up to 66%Clean + Planet Positive at Sephora When you see our Clean + Planet Positive seal, this brand's products are formulating without certain ingredients that are potentially harmful to human health and environment. They also address ingredients clients are concerned about, including phthalates, formaldehyde or formaldehyde releasers, oxybenzone and octinoxate, hydroquinone, triclosan, coal tar, methylisothiazolinone and methylchloroisothiazolinone, insoluble plastic microbeads, and more: For the full list, check out the Ingredients tab.On top of meeting the Clean at Sephora formulated without list, these brands are on a mission to do right by your routine and the planet by making climate commitments and focusing on sustainable sourcing, responsible packaging, and environmental giving.
Location:New York, NY
Hair Condition:Chemically Treated (Colored, Relaxed, or Permed)
Age:25-34
I received this product as a free sample:False
I am a Sephora employee:No
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great!
-07.06.15
Quick Take: easy to use, quick results
I recently dyed my naturally dark brown, wavy hair to bright purple. The bleaching process was INTENSE and while I love the color, I don't love the dryness and coarseness that came along with it. I had read good reviews about this product and it works well for me. It hasn't stripped the color and using it for 8-10 minutes, twice a week, has made my hair feel almost as soft as it was before I dyed it. Dig the natural ingredients as well. This one's a winner.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
11.16.14
Water Fuse Beauty Balm SPF 25 PA++

Dr. Jart+ Water Fuse Beauty Balm SPF 25 PA++

What it is:A one-step skin perfecting balm that minimizes the need for foundation or concealer. What it is formulated to do:- Unique Water Bead Technology helps to hydrate and maintain healthy moisture for a dewy fresh look - Features SPF 25 sun protection - Comes in one universal shade A moisturizer, sunscreen, and treatment serum, this all-in-one product also hides imperfections. Made with 50 percent water, Dr. Jart's Advanced Water Bead Technology helps hydrate and maintain healthy moisture for a dewy, fresh look. Like a drink for your skin, once applied, tiny droplets of water appear before being quickly absorbed, generating an instant soothing and cooling effect. This oil-free balm includes sunscreen ingredients that protect the skin from a broad range of UVA and UVB radiation, leaving skin looking smooth, perfect, and natural. What it is formulated WITHOUT:- Sulfates - Phthalates What else you need to know:Beauty Balms or BB Creams were originally developed as a perfect post-procedure cream used to treat, hydrate, prime, protect, and camouflage the skin. Great for all skin types including those with sensitive skin, these versatile “five-in-one” formulas are designed to do it all: treat with high levels of active skin care ingredients; moisturize and smooth dehydrated skin; prime and perfect skin’s surface; camouflage and color correct the skin tone; and protect skin from the sun with SPF. They can be used as a last step for their skin care benefits or used on their own as an instant beautifier.
Location:New York, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very light coverage, Oily
-11.16.14
Quick Take: oily, hydrating, good for dry skin, light coverage, sheer
I received a deluxe sample of this product to try and found it not to my liking. I think it might work well for someone with a dry complexion looking for a natural look, as it's hydrating and sheer.
For my combination / oily acne-prone skin, it wasn't great. I used it while I was having a small breakout and it didn't really mask my pimples or brown spots at all. I also felt like my skin appeared shinier than usual after application. Nothing a couple oil-blotter sheets couldn't fix, but annoying. If your complexion is similar to mine, I suggest you pass on this BB.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
11.12.13
Cava Lip Collection

Bite Beauty Cava Lip Collection

What it is: A Cava Lip Collection, featuring the return of Bite Beauty’s beloved shade of lilac-beige-in four formulas: Amuse Bouche, Multistick, Matte Crème Lip Crayon, and Luminous Crème. What it does: The Cava Lip Collection features Bite Beauty’s innovative, hydrating formula for a long-wearing finish without the dry texture. Bite’s Luminous Crème Lipsticks deliver a lush, long-lasting, moisture-rich lip color. They're formulated with antioxidant resveratrol-the same amount found in five glasses of red wine-which helps to target free radicals with potent, long-term antiaging benefits. The Multistick brings blendable, breathable, buildable color to the eyes, cheeks, and lips. Amuse Bouche Lipstick offers high-impact colors in dimensional shades that are handcrafted to provide ultimate hydration, soft texture, and creamy wear. Each shade of the Matte Crème Lip Crayons is water-resistant, long-lasting, and is loaded with the moisture-locking power of orange peel wax and the antioxidant properties of resveratrol. What else you need to know: Bite Beauty lip products are free of petrochemicals and are certified gluten-free. Clean at Sephora When you spot our Clean seal, you can be sure we’ve checked that this brand’s product is made without the ingredients you told us you’d most like to avoid. Clean at Sephora™ is formulated without: Sulfates SLS and SLES, parabens, formaldehydes, formaldehyde-releasing agents, phthalates, mineral oil, retinyl palmitate, oxybenzone, coal tar, hydroquinone, triclosan, triclocarban. All skincare, hair, and makeup brands with the Clean Seal have less than one percent of synthetic fragrances.
Location:New York, NY
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Brown
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lasts for hours & fades well
-11.12.13
Quick Take: creamy, long wearing
After years of only using lip tints followed by Fresh Sugar Lip treatment, I decided to try out a lipstick again. I work as a DJ and often play sets for 3+ hours where I'm unable to leave the booth because I'm on stage.
I recently tested this out during a 4 hour set under bright lights and it lasted the entire time. Even after hanging out for a couple drinks at the end of the night, I noticed it had left a natural looking tint on my lips and didn't get chalky or dry.
Major props Bite, this lipstick is awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
11.12.13

Lancôme Advanced Génifique Radiance Boosting Face Serum

What it is:A radiance boosting face serum with Bifidus Prebiotic, Vitamin C, Hyaluronic Acid and Ceramides, to visibly smooth, hydrate, even out skin texture and reduce fine lines & wrinkles.Skin Type: Normal, Dry, Combination, and Oily Highlighted Ingredients:- Bifidus Prebiotic 10%: Helps provide a favorable environment for good bacteria that are present on the skin’s surface.- Hyaluronic Acid: Holds large amounts of moisture. - Vitamin C: An antioxidant known to help neutralize free radicals, visibly brighten, and smooth the skin. This formula uses Vitamin Cg, a water-soluble, stable vitamin C derivative that is known to be gentle on the skin and that will not degrade when exposed to air, heat, or light.Ingredient Callouts: Free of parabens, phthalates, and sulfates SLS & SLES. What Else You Need to Know: Used morning and night, this formula helps strengthen the skin moisture barrier to defend against external aggressors including pollution, UV, cold and dry weather. Skin is hydrated, visibly softer and smoother. See radiance in 7 days and visibly reduce fine & wrinkles in 1 bottle.Clinical Results: Clinical grading, results after 8 weeks of use, 34 women. After only 1 bottle of Génifique, 10 key signs of aging are visibly improved, including:- Radiance Improved by 52%-Skin Texture Improved by 57%- More Even Skin Tone by 42%- Fine Lines Reduced by 42%-Wrinkles Reduced by 46%- Reiliency increased by 49%
Location:New York, NY
Skin Type:Combination
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miracle Worker - Erased Fine Lines
-11.12.13
Quick Take: hydrating, moisturizing
Wow. I got a sample of this with points and I am beyond impressed. At 25, I still deal more with acne than aging but I'd noticed fine lines around my mouth and on my forehead after using intense retinoids.
After two weeks of using this product morning & night, the difference is incredible. I apply it only on fine lines after washing my face, follow with acne medication, then moisturizer. My lines are now barely perceptible without makeup, invisible with makeup. I was worried it would cause me to breakout but so far so good.
The only drawback is the price. However because of how little is needed to achieve the results I've seen, I've decided it's well worth the splurge.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
03.05.13
Monoi Repairing Split End Sealer

Carol's Daughter Monoi Repairing Split End Sealer

What it is: A repairing lotion that instantly binds the frayed and separated ends of your hair back together.What it does: Everyone wants stronger, longer hair that looks flawless from root to tip without the hassle of getting regular trims. The secret is, the less trims you need, the longer your hair can grow, and faster! So, stop cutting and start growing by binding the frayed and separated ends of your hair back together, making them look freshly cut, instantly.What it is formulated WITHOUT:- ParabensWhat else you need to know: This product is free of alcohol, petroleum, mineral oil, and artificial colors. For more than 2,000 years, Tahitians have used Monoi oil for its natural reparative properties that undo and prevent damage from the sun, sea and surf. Using ingredients that only grow in Tahiti, Monoi oil is made by taking 15 freshly picked Tiare gardenia flower blossoms and combining them with 15 ounces of Coprah coconut oil over a 15-day sacred ritual. Research results:- Based on instrumental results versus control in a clinical trial on real human hair swatches, an average of 93.3% of split ends were sealed, instantly.-Thousands of hairs were put through mechanical stressors —washing, blow drying, flat ironing, hair coloring—until split ends formed. The Split End Sealer was then applied and the number of remaining split ends were counted. Only 6.7% of split ends remained.
Location:New York, NY
Age:18-24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Difference
-03.05.13
Quick Take: restorative, natural, smells good
This stuff works.
The winter was making my ends very dry but after a few weeks of daily use, they now match the rest of my hair in texture and appearance.
At first I was skeptical about paying so much for such a small amount of product, but I will happily continue to invest because of the awesome results.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
02.07.13
How To Look The Best At Everything

Benefit Cosmetics How To Look The Best At Everything

What it is:A four-piece flawless complexion makeup kit exclusive to Sephora.What it does: Benefit’s custom skin perfectors come together in this convenient kit to give you an even, luminous complexion. Blend away imperfections and minimize the appearance of pores with the must-haves in this collection. This set contains: - 0.25 oz/ 7.4 mL The POREfessional - 0.23 oz/ 6.8 mL Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow SPF 25 PA+++ in "I'm Pure 4 Sure" Ivory (light kit); "I'm so Money!" Honey (medium kit); "I'm so Glamber" Amber (deep kit) - 2 x 0.05 oz/ 1.4 g Boi-ing in 01 and 02 (light kit); 03 and 04 (medium kit); 04; and 05 (deep kit) - 0.14 oz/ 4 g "Hello Flawless!" in "I Love Me" Ivory (light kit); "I’m Cute as a Bunny" Honey (medium kit); "I'm Haute for Sure" Amber (deep kit) What else you need to know:This adorable, mirrored "book" also includes instructional tips and tricks cards for the true inside scoop on applying these products and achieving a perfect finish.
Location:New York, NY
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Brown
Age:18-24
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Breakouts + Not for Fair Skin
-02.07.13
Quick Take: clogs pores, orange, comedogenic
These products really clogged my pores. I have acne-prone skin and I began breaking out pretty badly within days of using them. When I stopped, my skin started clearing up within a week.
Also, I got the Light Kit and thought the colors weren't 100% suitable for fair skin. While the top part of the Boing concealer set covered pretty well and matched my complexion, the bottom one was way too dark.
The foundation is really runny and orange. If you have fair skin, it makes you look like you applied cheap self tanner.
The powder was my favorite part but only in warm, humid weather during a trip to Miami. In the chilly NYC winter, it made my skin dry and flaky.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
12.26.12
MultiplEYE™ Lash Enhancing Liquid Liner

tarte MultiplEYE™ Lash Enhancing Liquid Liner

What it is:A budge-proof, long-wearing liquid eyeliner.What it does:This bold liquid liner helps you achieve defined eyes and enhanced lashes with a precision application tip. Deeply pigmented, this formula glides on smooth to frame eyes while delivering Tarte's lash-nourishing HydroPlant™ peptide. The results speak for themselves: 80% of subjects agree their eyes appear more defined instantly after using MultiplEYE™ lash enhancing liquid liner. Its flow-through applicator allows for expert control to create a thick or thin line without dragging, tugging, or skipping. What it is formulated WITHOUT:- Parabens- Synthetic Fragrances- Synthetic Dyes- PhthalatesWhat else you need to know: Skinvigorating® benefits include: HydroPlant peptide, a naturally derived, proprietary blend clinically proven to increase lash softness, thickness, and appearance of length; pure water, which delivers and retains moisture; soybean extract, a plant-derived emollient rich in protein and vitamins A and E; and mineral pigments derived from natural minerals known to soothe and soften the skin.Research results:- 80% of subjects agree eyes appear more defined, instantly.
Location:New York, NY
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Brown
Age:18-24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-12.26.12
Quick Take: long wearing, dries quickly
This is the first liquid liner I've purchased and I'm very impressed. It's easy to apply, dries quickly, doesn't smudge, and lasts for hours.
I wear contact lenses and it has yet to irritate my eyes.
Wonderful product, highly recommend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
12.26.12

tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush

What it is: An award-winning powder blush that contains long-wearing Amazonian clay, so pigment looks freshly applied all day.What it does:This super-soft, silky powder chock is full of true-color mineral pigment, letting you layer on your glow with no harsh lines or chalky buildup. Micronized Amazonian clay helps control oil and infuse moisture for balanced skin and seamless blending.What it is formulated WITHOUT:- Parabens- PhthalatesWhat else you need to know:This product is dermatologist-tested and formulated without mineral oil, triclosan, and gluten.Shades are removable. Just pop each from its compact and drop it into your own custom palette.
Location:New York, NY
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Brown
Age:18-24
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
-12.26.12
Quick Take: natural looking
Firstly, I commend Tarte for avoiding ingredients like parabens, petrochemicals, GMOs, etc. Lots of respect for their commitment to using natural ingredients.
This is a good blush that blends well. It doesn't last all day, but for me it stays put for about 4-5 hours.
I have sensitive skin and am prone to acne & rosacea, and using cheaper blush has triggered breakouts in the past. Happy to say that I've been wearing this almost daily for weeks and it has not caused a reaction for my skin.
For anyone unsure about which color to try, I chose the shade "Exposed" and am pleased with how it looks on my skin tone (fair/light).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.