NavyGirl88
Reviews
31
Featured Reviews
0
Average Rating
4.5
Recommended
80%
Helpful Votes
61
Active Since
11.01.12
Last Review
05.05.20
05.05.20

Peter Thomas Roth Mini FIRMx™ Exfoliating Peel Gel

What it is: A peeling gel that visibly rolls and lifts and sweeps away impurities when massaged onto skin.Skin Type: Normal Skincare Concerns: Pores, Blemishes, and Loss of Firmness and Elasticity Formulation: Gel Highlighted Ingredients:- Pineapple, Pomegranate, and Keratinase Enzymes: Exfoliate skin’s surface. - Cellulose: Smooths skin. - Glycerin and Hyaluronic Acid: Hydrates and soothes.Ingredient Callouts: Free of sulfates SLS and SLES, parabens, formaldehydes, formaldehyde-releasing agents, phthalates, mineral oil, retinyl palmitate, oxybenzone, coal tar, hydroquinone, triclosan, and triclocarban, and contains less than one percent of synthetic fragrances. What Else You Need to Know: This peel gel’s formula with multi-action pineapple, pomegranate, and keratinase enzymes and cellulose effectively peel to help uncover a smoother, fresher, brighter-looking complexion. It also helps remove impurities and unclog pores for a more youthful, radiant, and firm look.
Received Free Sample
Eye Color:Blue
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Combination
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skeptic-turned-believer!
-05.05.20
I refuse to believe the flakes that come up after rubbing this on my face is my own skin, probably because it's too gross to think about...all I know is I was extremely skeptical using this for the first time (it was a reward item), and was a believer after the first use! My face was soft and gorgeous immediately after. I've never gotten such great results--not with coffee scrubs, my clarisonic, or regular face washes. Had to buy the full size, I don't know how I went so long not knowing about this.
For reference, I have combination, sensitive, acne-prone skin, and this doesn't bother me or cause breakouts. Just make sure to use a good moisturizer afterwards.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
03.05.20

Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder Translucent

What it is: A lightweight, easy-to-apply, loose powder that blends effortlessly to set makeup for up to 12 hours.What Else You Need to Know: This award-winning powder locks in makeup for long-lasting wear without adding weight or texture. It absorbs oil and reduces shine all day, creating a flawless, matte finish with no flashback in photos. These truly-translucent shades work on all skin tones, and create a soft-focus effect to subtly blur fine lines and imperfections. Translucent is perfect for fair to medium and tan skin tones.Translucent Medium Deep is perfect for medium-deep to deep skin tones.Clinical Results: In a consumer test on 32 women after 2 weeks:- 100% said it is lightweight and does not look cakey on skin- 100% said it controls and reduces shine- 97% said it absorbs excess oil
Eye Color:Blue
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Combination
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best of the Best
-03.05.20
I've been buying this powder for several years, and it's a staple at this point. I waver between using it to bake under my eyes and as an all-over powder to set my foundation, because sometimes using it all over my face with a light hand, I end up looking a bit cakey, which is a little annoying, but it eventually blends in and looks really natural. I like how great it is at oil-control, as well. I have an oily t-zone and dry cheeks, so it's nice to know that I don't have to touch up when i wear this powder.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
12.08.19

Farmacy Green Clean Makeup Removing Cleansing Balm

What it is: A makeup remover and face cleanser that virtually melts away all makeup, leaving skin hydrated and silky smooth. Skin Type: Normal, Dry, Combination, and Oily Skincare Concerns: Dryness, Dullness, and Uneven Texture Formulation: CreamHighlighted Ingredients:- Sunflower and Ginger Root Oils: Melt even stubborn makeup (including long-wear) without stripping or drying skin.- Turmeric and Moringa Extract: Help remove impurities, sunscreen residue, and fight the effects of pollution.- Papaya Enzymes: Naturally exfoliate pores. Ingredient Callouts: This product is vegan, cruelty-free, and gluten-free, and comes in recyclable packaging. What Else You Need to Know: This holy grail cleansing balm instantly melts makeup, removes impurities, and gently exfoliates. It transforms from a sorbet-like balm to silky oil to milky lather to remove makeup effortlessly with zero residue. With a blend of essential oils, this balm smells like vacation. Green Clean Makeup Meltaway Cleansing Balm does not contain polyethylene microbeads. The polyethylene is not in a solid form and melts with water as it is washed down the drain.This product is also an Allure Best of Beauty Winner.Clean at SephoraClean at Sephora is formulated without a list of over 50 ingredients, including sulfates (SLS and SLES), parabens, phthalates, and more. For the full list, check out the Ingredients tab.
Eye Color:Blue
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Combination
Age:25-34
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
blurs your vision
-12.08.19
I love the citrus/lime scent, but I don't care for the fact that it turns your eyes blurry if you use it to remove eye makeup. I think it's a great makeup remover overall, and my face feels amazing after I've used it (in combination with another face wash) and rinsed it off...but no matter how hard I've tried to keep it from getting into my eyes when I'm using it to take eye makeup off, it never fails to make my vision blurry, and for that reason, I cannot recommend.
there are plenty of makeup remover solids out there which don't have this problem. I'm happy to try it, because I love trying new brands and products, but I won't be repurchasing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
12.08.19

Summer Fridays Jet Lag Mask Mini

Which skin type is it good for?✔ Normal✔ Oily✔ Combination✔ Dry✔ Sensitive What it is: A one-of-a-kind hydrating cream face mask featuring proven, skin-loving ingredients that deliver rich hydration and a radiant complexion in just one application. Solutions for:- Dryness- Dullness and uneven texture If you want to know more… You don’t have to be a jetsetter to have that lag. Upgrade your skin to a business-class complexion-no matter what time your red-eye gets in, or what time your head hits the pillow. This uber-dewy, hydrating mask soothes thirsty, stressed-out skin by steeping cells in a nourishing mix of vitamins, ceramides, antioxidants, and gently exfoliating extracts. Skin looks instantly renewed, radiant, and ready for anything. What else you need to know:You don’t have to be a jetsetter to have that lag. Upgrade your skin to a business-class complexion-no matter what time your red-eye gets in, or what time your head hits the pillow. This uber-dewy, hydrating mask is noncomedogenic and soothes thirsty, stressed-out skin by steeping it in a nourishing mix of vitamins, ceramides, antioxidants, and gently exfoliating extracts. Skin looks instantly renewed, radiant, and ready for anything. Clean at SephoraClean at Sephora is formulated without a list of over 50 ingredients, including sulfates (SLS and SLES), parabens, phthalates, and more. For the full list, check out the Ingredients tab.
Eye Color:Blue
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Combination
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know what it does, but I like it!
-12.08.19
I use this at night usually, after I've removed my makeup, under my eyes especially, and around my mouth, where I get creases if my skin is too dry. This stuff is lightweight and my skin drinks it right up, and in the morning, my face feels soft, supple, and healthy. I will definitely be repurchasing once I run out. Which brings me to another thing I like: you need a very small amount to get the job done; I can see this lasting me at least 3-6 months (if used daily, which I don't).
There have been many mornings where I've fallen asleep with makeup on, and had to wash it off the next morning...before buying this, my face felt like dirt the rest of the day, and I'd have to suffer through my face trying to recuperate. Now, when that happens and I apply this stuff to my face immediately after removing the makeup, my skin is pretty much instantly rejuvenated, and i can go about my day without having to worry about tightness in dry areas, or breaking out.
I will be taking this with me on my upcoming vacation, because my face always feels like the aforementioned dirt after flying, no matter what I do. So I'm excited to see how this stuff performs when my skin has jet lag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
02.14.19

KEVYN AUCOIN The Expert Lip Color Lipstick Carliana

What it is: An ultra-moisturizing lipstick that provides full, radiant color.What it does: Get rich color in just one stroke. This creamy, luxurious formula lasts for hours without feeling heavy, and the color stays true and wears comfortably. The formula contains wild mango fruit butter to moisturize lips.What it is formulated WITHOUT:- Parabens- Sulfates- Phthalates
Eye Color:Blue
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Combination
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my favorite red lipstick of all time
-02.14.19
Heck, it's my favorite LIPSTICK of all time. I own the true red shade. I've actually owned it for a couple years, and its still my favorite. The longevity of this formula is unparalleled, I've never found a lipstick like it that, while it's not transfer-proof, even after eating a meal and drinking several glasses of wine, still looks impeccable and needs the barest of touch-ups. It hardly feathers, too, which I personally have a pet peeve with concerning lipsticks in general. This is, hands-down, my holy grail choice in lipsticks.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
05.28.17

amika Perk Up Talc-Free Dry Shampoo

Which hair type is it good for?✔ Straight✔ Wavy✔ Curly✔ Coiled✔ Tightly CoiledWhat it is:A dry shampoo formulated without talc or aluminum that refreshes hair by absorbing excess oil and adding volume.Key benefits:- Naturally cleans and deodorizes hair- Adds volume- Cools and refreshes scalpIf you want to know more… Perk Up Dry Shampoo is your secret weapon to maintaining your style. Enriched with natural rice starch, which immediately works to absorb excess oils, Perk Up Dry Shampoo is one of the only dry shampoos on the market formulated without aluminum starch or telltale, chalky talc. Whether you’re in need of a quick no-wash cleanse or an extra boost of volume, a swift mist of this Sea Buckthorn Berry-infused formula leaves hair soft and refreshed, while a spray to the roots adds volume. This product is color-free and contains no harmful ingredients-so it doesn’t leave a dreaded dusty residue, but naturally revitalized hair.What it is formulated WITHOUT:- Parabens- Sulfates- PhthalatesWhat else you need to know:A perfect partner to Silken Up Dry Conditioner (sold separately), use Perk Up Dry Shampoo to absorb excess oil and add volume at the root, and Silken Up Dry Conditioner (sold separately) to lightly condition the lengths of hair. This dynamic duo delivers the ultimate freshly washed look and feel. This product is a NewBeauty Beauty Choice Award winner.This product is certified vegan and formulated without MIT/MCI, artificial colors, formaldehydes, formaldehyde-releasing agents, mineral oil, retinyl palmitate, oxybenzone, coal tar, hydroquinone, triclosan, triclocarban, aluminum, talc, and have less than one percent synthetic fragrances. Sea buckthorn berry (also known as obliphica) is included in all of Amika’s haircare and styling products. It contains over 190 biologically active compounds, including vitamin C (15 times more than an orange), vitamin A (three times more than a carrot), and vitamin E. It also has high concentrations of the rare omega-7, making up 40 percent of the berry. Typically only found in fish oil, omega-7 keeps free radicals at bay and promotes the production of collagen, a key building block for skin, hair, and nails. Sea buckthorn has been thoroughly researched in over 130 modern scientific studies that have found that this berry promotes health. Women throughout the ages have used the obliphica berry to protect themselves against the ravages of the sun and the elements. Founded on tradition and now based on extensive scientific research, sea buckthorn is one of the biggest functional whole food rediscoveries of the 21st century.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Obsessedddddd
-05.28.17
I wanted to test drive this dry shampoo, so I bought the $10 mini size, and I ended up falling in love with it. The smell is intoxicating, it's like a beautiful perfume that lingers throughout the entire day. It also does a fantastic job of absorbing oil and not leaving your hair feeling crispy, and there's no white residue whatsoever...you don't need a ton to get the job done, either! I've never found a dry shampoo that I wasn't just "meh" about, until I landed on this gem. I even got the 100 point mini of the Drybar dry shampoo, which also smells really nice, but doesn't do as great of a job in the oil absorption department. I only wash my hair a couple of times a week, since my hair is pretty processed, and this does a great job of making my hair look like it's only on Day 2, even if it's been more like 3 or 4. Definitely buying the full size of this when I run out of the mini. 10/10 would recommend; this is a holy grail item for sure!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
04.10.17
Lips & Boys Lip Color

TOM FORD Lips & Boys Lip Color

What it is: A clutch-sized, mini lipstick- inspired by the men in Mr. Ford's life-with an ultra-creamy texture and lasting full coverage. What it does: Each Lips & Boy Lip Color is a modern creation of an essential lipstick shade. Infused with soja seed extract, Brazilian muru muru butter, and chamomilla flower oil, each lip color creates an ultra-creamy texture with incredibly smooth application. Packaged in a sleek mini-sized lipstick case, this decadent wardrobe of rich, specially treated pigments are blended to deliver pure color in matte, cream, and metallic finishes What else you need to know: TOM FORD has unleashed 25 new boys to debut on your lips, alongside the 25 bestsellers you know and love. Named after men he admires-from intimates to collaborators from around the world-this first-of-its-kind collection introduces a modern matte finish for the very first time. Designed to be worn on their own or layered with one another, each transforming color amplifies a woman’s individuality while inciting an insatiable desire to try more than one. From nuanced nudes like Bradley and Alexander, romantic roses like Richard and Douglas, to the unabashed boldness of Nicholas and Dominic, there’s a shade and boy for every mood. Have questions about this TOM FORD product? Give Sephora’s Beauty Advisors a call at 855-557-6845 or send us an email at TomFord@sephora.com to get personalized advice on how to use this product or assistance with any Tom Ford product
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-04.10.17
I absolutely love this lipstick. Thankfully, I fell in love with the shade when it arrived at my house, because the swatches on Sephora are not faithful to the shades AT ALL. "Evan" was the shade I bought, and it's more of a coral/nude...it does not even remotely resemble the brownish nude that Sephora is showing. I did my own research on the shades, by going to TF's website (they posted true swatches there), and googling swatches on other pale people like me. I'd recommend everybody considering purchasing this lipstick do the same. As for the formulation, I'm really happy with it, it's very creamy and moisturizing. The size of the lipstick definitely leaves something to be desired...but the packaging is super cute and luxurious. All in all, it's a win for me.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
04.09.17

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Primer

What it is:A colorless, wax brow primer pencil.What it is formulated to do: Designed to keep brows in place with flexibility, Brow Primer is best used after applying brow color for a subtle, yet defined look.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yayyyy
-04.09.17
This pencil is everything for me. I have very sparse brows, so I put this down before I apply my eyebrow powder to fill in my brows... it was really difficult for me to create a natural arched brow prior to finding this. It is essentially a wax pencil that you can find for much cheaper anywhere else, but I'm really happy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
03.26.17
Shade + Light Contour Palette

KVD Vegan Beauty Shade + Light Contour Palette

What it is:An exclusive contour palette featuring three shades for contouring and three shades for highlighting, designed to shape and define facial features to create a look of authentic dimensionality. What it does:An expert sketch artist, Kat Von D uses shadow and light to create depth and dimension in her captivating portraits, infusing them with lifelike authenticity. Take artistry shading into your own hands with this Shade + Light Contour Palette. Effortlessly sculpt, chisel, shape, and slenderize your features for enhanced definition. Unlike traditional bronzing powders, the Shade + Light Contour Palette is loaded with a unique selection of matte shades that capture the true hues of shadow and light. The three contour shades create realistic shadows to recede facial features, while the three highlight shades impart a soft luminosity to amplify dimension. A true artist's palette specially designed to be used with the Shade + Light Contour Brush, these silky, buildable powders blend effortlessly into the skin for a flawless, fade-proof finish that flatters every skin tone and face shape. This set is exclusively available at Sephora. This palette contains: - 3 x 0.16 oz Shade powder in Sombre (true taupe), Shadowplay (soft brown), Subconscious (deep brown) - 3 x 0.08 oz Light powder in Lucid (pinkish nude), Lyric (yellow beige), Levitation (soft peach) - Illustrated tutorial insert What it is formulated WITHOUT:- Parabens- Sulfates - Phthalates What else you need to know: The Shade + Light Contour Brush is sold separately. Follow the included insert, illustrated by Kat herself, and master the art of contouring with three simple techniques: Define the cheekbones to sculpt and chisel your appearance. Slim the face to slenderize features and define the jawline. Shape the nose to taper and balance your silhouette. "The true inspiration behind the Shade + Light Contour Palette comes from all these years of trying to understand the usage of shadows and light within the portraits I draw."-Kat Von D For best results, apply with the Shade + Light Contour Brush (sold separately).
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
-03.26.17
I use KVD's palette almost daily. I have very pale, porcelain skin, so sometimes the colors end up looking kind of orange-y on me, and the palest shades don't really show up very well, except to define under my cheekbones and a little bit on my nose as a highlighter... which is why I took off one star. Otherwise, I'm very satisfied with the quality of the product and the pigmentation of all the shades, which are beautiful. It's very easy and quick to blend and build up color.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
09.21.16

tarte Energy Noir Clay Palette

What it is:A full-face eye and cheek palette for creating bright day looks and sultry evening looks. What it does:Bring an energetic look to eyes and cheeks with tarte’s clay-infused eye and cheek palette, featuring eight gorgeous eyeshadows in neutral, plum, and smoky hues. Then amp up your makeup look with the versatile eye and cheek highlighter and go softly flushed with the warm, neutral blush-each infused with tarte’s iconic Amazonian clay and encased in a chic palette. Use the included step-by-step guide to learn how to create the “Everyday Energy” and “Nighttime Noir” looks. This palette contains:- 6 x 0.035 oz Amazonian clay eyeshadow in Full Moon, Charged Up, Dark Drive, Stone Unturned, Up Too Slate, Misty Mauve - 2 x 0.045 oz Amazonian clay eyeshadow in Power Plum, Lunar Eclipse - 0.045 oz Amazonian clay highlighter in Crystal Spark - 1.91 oz Amazonian clay 12-Hour blush in Unearthed - Step-by-step Guide What it is formulated WITHOUT:- Parabens - Phthalates What else you need to know:This palette is free of mineral oil, triclosan, and sodium lauryl sulfate. It is dermatologist-tested.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A solid buy at a fantastic price!
-09.21.16
Got this little compact when it was on sale. I actually really love it. The colors are really pigmented and have great payoff, and the compact is very satisfyingly solid and has a nice weight to it. It doesn't feel flimsy like a lot of makeup palettes out there. I really love the large mirror on top, too. Only reason I took off a star is because I don't really care for the blush--for some reason, tarte blushes are really hard for me to blend on my face. They stick like glue the moment I put any down with my brush and refuse to budge. Otherwise, I couldn't be happier with this purchase. It's one of my favorite palettes now (and I have quite a big collection, #nbd :p).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
09.19.16
Pretty Paintbox Collector’s Makeup Case

Tarte Pretty Paintbox Collector’s Makeup Case

What it is: A custom collector’s case, packed with limited-edition tarteist™ essentials. What it does: Imagine, create, and inspire with this collector’s Paintbox Collector's Makeup Case, featuring all the beauty products needed to complete a number of beauty looks. The custom print, full-size case includes a built-in eyeshadow palette with 24 brilliant, limited-edition shades, including warm neutrals and avant-garde bolds with mixed matte and micro-metallic finishes. It also includes two, lash-loving favorites from tarte, including the waterproof Rainforest of the Sea™ so fine micro liner and tarteist lash paint mascara for an instant, ultimate increase in lash volume. Then, paint on high-coverage, high-shine lip color with the coveted, deluxe-size tarteist glossy lip paint. The case also includes a limited-edition, four-piece cheek palette to contour, highlight, and accentuate cheeks across all skin tones. There’s added storage in the mirrored case for some extra tarteist essentials so you stow away the rest of your beauty musts. This set contains: - 24 x 0.031 oz/ 0.87 g Amazonian Clay Eyeshadow in Glitter Glue, Nude, Bronze Casting, Silhoutte, Waterlines, van Gogh with it, Metal Work, Charcoal Sketch, Pearl Earring, Frameworthy, First Impression, Starry Night, Fresco, Hearts & Crafts, Selfie Portrait, One Too Manet, Porcelain Dali, Monochrome, hot MoMa, Stained Glass, Pastel, I Lourve It, Get Surreal, Still Life - 0.10 oz/ 2.83 g Tartiest lash paint mascara in Black - 0.158 oz/ 4.47 g Amazonian Clay Blush in Moment (coral) - 0.158 oz/ 4.47 g Amazonian Clay Highlighter in Authentic (champagne) - 2 x 0.158 oz/ 4.47 g Amazonian Clay Bronzer in Unique (shimmer), Provacative (matte contour) - 0.10 oz/ 2.83 g Rainforest of the Sea So Fine Micro Liner in Black - 0.01 oz/ 0.47 g Tarteist glossy lip paint in Ovbi (warm nude) What it is formulated WITHOUT: - Parabens - Phthalates What else you need to know: The tarteist lash paint mascara, Rainforest of the Sea So Fine Micro Liner, and tarteist glossy lip paint are vegan and dermatologist tested. The tarteist lash paint mascara and Rainforest of the Sea So Fine Micro Liner are ophthalmologist tested and safe for contact lens wearers.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a win for me
-09.19.16
I'm honestly shocked at the low overall rating this palette has gotten. I'm pretty impressed with it thus far, and I've had it since it was unveiled a couple weeks ago at an early-release VIB Rouge event. I don't really care for the blush and bronzer...the bronzer I found too orangey and the blush hard to blend. The highlighter was nice, it just didn't show up very well on me. I am really pale though. Otherwise, I love the lip stuff, the mascara and eyeliner (I'm pretty sure it's even better and blacker than KVD's tattoo liner--and that's major for me), and I've only had an issue with chalkiness from like 3 of the eyeshadows. This palette was well worth the money, maybe the bad reviewers just got a bad batch or something. I didn't get the palette for the bronzer/blush/highlighter stuff, I liked the variety of colors, everything else was just a bonus. I could do without the bulky case, however. It's a bit cumbersome, and will be a bit of a challenge to pack when I travel during the holidays.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
07.31.16

CLINIQUE Liquid Facial Soap

Which skin type is it good for?✔ Normal✔ Oily✔ Combination✔ Dry✔ Sensitive What it is:A non-drying liquid soap that cleanses gently and thoroughly. Solutions for: - Dryness If you want to know more…Clinically formulated cleansing-that's how great skin starts. This dermatologist-developed Facial Soap maintains protective lipids and loosens surface flakes to leave skin clean, comfortable, and refreshed-never taut or dry. It rinses away easily and prepares skin perfectly for the exfoliating action of Clarifying Lotion, while the convenient pump dispenser provides just the right amount of product. What it is formulated WITHOUT:- Parabens- Phthalates What else you need to know:This product is allergy tested, dermatologist developed, and free of fragrance, oil, silicone, alcohol, and gluten. Mild and Oily Skin versions are oil-free.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great cleanser
-07.31.16
I've been using this stuff for several years, and I love it. I have combination skin, so I use the "oily" kind (or combination oily to oily variation). My t zone and chin are pretty oily, and I use this cleanser in combination with an Ole Henriksen face wash to really get all traces of makeup off my face and keep my face clean, and it does an excellent job, doesn't dry my face out excessively, or break me out. Can't complain.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
05.30.16
Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Foundation

Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Foundation

What it is: A demi-matte, liquid foundation, with light-diffusing spheres that reduce the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, and imperfections for luminous skin.Coverage: Medium Finish: Matte Formulation: Liquid Skin Type: Normal, Dry, and Combination Highlighted Ingredients: - Matrixyl 3000: Diminishes the appearance of wrinkles.- Sodium Hyaluronate: Supports skin hydration and nutrient absorption. Ingredient Callouts: Free of parabens. This product is also vegan and cruelty-free. What Else You Need to Know: Last chance! Get Naked Skin Foundation before it’s gone. Stay Naked Foundation launches on Sephora.com on 7/29 and in stores 8/1.Naked Skin Liquid Makeup transforms your complexion. Skin looks natural, illuminated, and bright. It provides buildable coverage with a weightless feel, offered in a range of meticulously-calibrated shades. It’s loaded with nourishing ingredients to support natural skin hydration and nutrient absorption.
Location:Seattle, WA
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Blue
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Go-To Foundation now!
-05.30.16
Quick Take: oil-free, long wearing, buildable coverage
I didn't even like this stuff at first when I got a sample of it. But then the more I used it, the more I liked my skin after I washed it off, and how natural I looked wearing it. I especially like applying it with a beauty blender, because it makes it look that much more seamless. It's very silky, the coverage is buildable (which I am an especially big fan of, on days when my acne kicks up), and it's oil free.
I used to use Hourglass' Mineral Veil foundation, and found it was a little too heavy (although it's still a medium-coverage one like this), and it would sometimes make me break out. This doesn't! My skin actually looks better when I take it off at the end of the day. One reviewer said that hers comes off after a few hours...I haven't had that issue. Sometimes it'll separate a little on my nose, but I just blend it a little with my finger, and I'm good. This even stays on after I go to the gym.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
05.30.16

SEPHORA COLLECTION Beauty Amplifier Universal Lip Liner

What it is: A colorless, long-lasting waterproof lip liner that prevents lipstick from feathering. What it does: This clear lip liner secretly perfects your lip contour for several hours thanks to a long-lasting waterproof formula. Setting agents keep color where it belongs and prevents your favorite lipstick from feathering. Hyaluronic acid soothes skin and ensures an easy, smooth application. What else you need to know:This product is not tested on animals. What it is formulated WITHOUT:- Parabens Ingredient Note: All Sephora Collection products comply with the most rigorous international laws on product safety-going beyond satisfying European and US Cosmetics regulations. They also satisfy the strictest internal requirements of development, quality, traceability, and safety, and lead by example with a Restricted Substance List that excludes more than 1,400 substances.
Location:Seattle, WA
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Blue
Age:25-34
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good stuff!
-05.30.16
Quick Take: glides on easily, long wearing, soft, moisturizing, a pencil
Just bought this yesterday; I've been meaning to get a clear lip liner for quite some time because I'm tired of having 232342834732974 shades of lip liners for each of my lipsticks. This makes things a WHOLE lot easier, plus it does two jobs in one: 1) it's a lip liner, 2) it acts as a barrier against lipstick feathering, so I don't have to use concealer around the perimeter of my lips anymore. Super smooth, it is a tad waxy, not too bad though. And it lasts ALL DAY! I'd definitely re-purchase, considering it's only $10. And other brands were trying to charge me 20-some bucks for the same thing.
One thing I will say: I'm roughly the same skin tone as Casper the ghost, and even then, this shows up as kind of white-ish. Just blend it a little bit with your fingers before putting lipstick on, and you should be fine.
Another reason I wanted to comment: a lot of reviewers were saying they got frustrated because their pencil tips broke off and they couldn't twist it up---it's because it's a traditional pencil that needs to be sharpened. I know...I was guilty of the same thought process. Kind of relieving to find out it is an actual pencil. I hate self-sharpening ones...you never get as much product.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
05.16.16

Urban Decay Naked Skin Color Correcting Fluid

What it is: A lightweight color-correcting fluid that blurs imperfections, dark spots, and blemishes, leaving skin looking bright and luminous.Highlighted Ingredients: - Vitamins C and E Ingredient Callouts: Free of sulfates SLS and SLES, parabens, and phthalates. This product is also vegan and cruelty-free.What Else You Need to Know: Each shade includes special pigment technology for even application and an antioxidant boost from vitamins C and E. Choose the shade that targets your skin concerns: green reduces redness, lavender balances sallowness, pink brightens dark areas, yellow corrects dullness, and peach masks discoloration.
Location:Seattle, WA
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Blue
Age:25-34
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's okay
-05.16.16
Quick Take: lightweight, non-drying
I have the green color corrector for redness, and it's alright. I just wish it had more pigment, more oomph to it. I feel like when I blot it down, a lot of the redness from my acne shows through and I have to use more concealer than I should, because it's far too thin. Otherwise, it gets the job done. I probably won't be re-purchasing in the future, though
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
12.25.15

Urban Decay Naked3 Palette

What it is: An eyeshadow palette with rose-hued neutrals in ultra-smooth mattes, gorgeous pearls, and glimmering metallics for natural beauty looks. Ingredient Callouts: Free of parabens and phthalates. This product is also cruelty-free.What Else You Need to Know: From a shimmery pale pink eyeshadow to a deep black matte with red micro-glitter, every shade in this palette is perfect for creating natural looks. It is formulated with Urban Decay‘s Pigment Infusion System™ to deliver velvety texture, pigmented color, staying power, and blendability.This Set Contains:- 12 x 0.05 oz/ 1.41 g Eyeshadows in Strange (pale neutral pink), Dust (pale metallic pink), Burnout (light pink peach), Limit (light dusty rose), Buzz (rose with silver), Trick (light pinky-copper), Nooner (medium pinky-brown), Liar (medium mauve), Factory (pinky-brown), Mugshot (taupe with slight pink shift), Darkside (deep taupe-mauve), Darkheart (smoky black with rosey-red)
Location:Seattle, WA
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Blue
Age:25-34
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Returning
-12.25.15
Quick Take: good value, has great color payoff
I'm a HUGE fan of UD products; I own the Naked 2 palette, and have been eyeballing this third installment ever since they announced its unveiling several months back. However, in practice, I'm just not a fan of these shades on my complexion. Rosy tones seem to wash me out and make my face look kind of ruddy. Overall, I'd say this palette would work best on gals with darker complexions, like olive skin tones, or even darker. I'll be returning this, unfortunately. I'm kind of sad, because I really wanted to like this palette, and the color payout is just as rich as Naked 2's (except for the first two shades on the left; they don't show up too well on my pasty skin).
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
07.15.14

MAKE UP FOR EVER Aqua Brow

What it is: A long-lasting, smudge-proof eyebrow corrector that fills, defines, and lengthens brows.What it does: Aqua Brow is a highly pigmented gel that enhances and reshapes natural brows. Its superior waterproof formula creates a strong hold while its high concentration of pigments allows for intense color payoff that will not fade. Aqua Brow’s creamy gel texture gives an even, natural result that will last all day.
Location:Washington, DC
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Blue
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love eeeeeeeeet
-07.15.14
Quick Take: water resistant, long lasting, natural, blends well, easy to use
Fabulous product. Does exactly what it promises and then some. Some reviewers said that you can't really fill in spots that don't have hair, but I beg to differ. I have pretty thin brows from over-plucking in my youth, and this fills in spots under and below the areas that have hairs quite well. I wanted something with a little more staying power than an eyebrow pencil, and found the holy grail in this little guy! Although it's a small tube, I'm fairly certain I'll have more than enough left even when I have great-grandkids, because of how little one actually needs to do a great job. It can look less than natural at times, depending on how much you use, but I find that it looks so much better than when I use a pencil, for some reason. I like that it's sweat-proof, too, so when I go to work out, I'm not worrying about my va-va-voom brows disappearing at the slightest appearance of moisture.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
10.05.13

NARS Pure Matte Lipstick

What it is:An ultra-matte, super-rich lipstick with the supple feel of a hydrating lip treatment.What it does:This matte lipstick moisturizes and sooths lips while depositing vivid, dramatic color onto the lips.What else you need to know:Pure Matte Lipstick contains mango butter that provides additional comfort and moisture. The product comes packaged in a new, soft-touch slim stick.Beauty Tip:Use lip liner as a finishing touch to create and mix your own unique lip color.
Location:Pensacola, FL
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Blue
Age:25-34
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Awesome matte color
-10.05.13
Quick Take: long wearing, pigmented, a little drying
I have this one in Madere. I was looking to mix things up and go for a nude shade, seeing as I already own several different shades of red. I have never used a matte lipstick before, and this one can be kind of drying and emphasize the creases in your lips (even if they're not remotely dried out), but a bit of lip balm dabbed on top does wonders for that! The staying power isn't great, but you kind of have to expect that from a non-stain lip color when eating or drinking something.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
07.05.13

Hourglass Illusion® Hyaluronic Skin Tint

Coverage: ✔ Medium Skin type: ✔ Normal ✔ Dry Finish: ✔ Radiant SPF: - SPF 15 What it is: A foundation that smooths the look of fine lines and wrinkles and sagging skin, and delivers a radiant glow for a smoother, firmer, youthful-looking complexion. What it does: Illusion® Hyaluronic Skin Tint is a hydrating and firming foundation that evens out the skin tone, softens imperfections, and boosts moisture levels in the skin. It is formulated with Hourglass’ Hyaluronan Complex, an advanced form of hyaluronic acid that plumped, tightened appearance while filling in deep wrinkles. Pearlescent pigments infuse the complexion with a luminous glow. Its whipped, creamy texture imparts medium-to-full coverage while providing broad spectrum SPF 15 sun protection. What it is formulated WITHOUT: - Parabens - Sulfates - Phthalates What else you need to know: "Illusion Hyaluronic Skin Tint infuses your skin with an almost supernatural glow but it also addresses the visible signs of aging. It lifts, tightens and hydrates skin. It does wonders for dull, lackluster skin."-Carisa Janes, Hourglass Founder Hourglass products are 100 percent cruelty-free. This product is free of fragrance. Research results: In a consumer study of 30 women after 2 weeks: - 100% reported an improvement in the look of skin’s firmness and smoothness - 100% said fine lines and wrinkles seemed reduced - 96% reported a noticeable increase in skin’s radiance
Location:Pensacola, FL
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Blue
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really great foundation
-07.05.13
Quick Take: contains SPF, sheer coverage, long-lasting
I like a little more coverage than this provides on its own, so I combine it with my Clinique foundation, and it provides a perfect balance. I live in Florida, so I don't use this too much, else it melts right off my face. I'm quite in love with the luminizing effect it has. Be careful with applying it too heavily, though. I apply very thin layers of it. It's good for those days when my face is kind of dry and needs a little more moisture. It's also really great for covering up fine lines, which is what attracted me to it initially.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
07.05.13

Hourglass Hidden® Corrective Concealer

What it is:A creamy, weightless moisturizing concealer that blends easily into the skin for an undetectable finish.What it is formulated to do:This concealer instantly improves the appearance of dark spots and circles, blemishes, and fine lines with long-lasting coverage.What it is formulated WITHOUT:- Sulfates- Synthetic Fragrances- Synthetic Dyes - PhthalatesWhat else you need to know:Hidden Concealer contains Vitamin E to soften skin and provide a protective layer.Hourglass products are 100 percent cruelty-free.
Location:Pensacola, FL
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Blue
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Best!
-07.05.13
Quick Take: full coverage, lightweight, non-drying
I bought this bad boy in Pearl. Was on the hunt for a full-coverage concealer to cover up some redness and occasional acne. I even use it sometimes on undereye circles on the few days a week I didn't get many zZ's. This stuff does a really great job, and works overtime all day long. Doesn't crease, no fading, and it's super duper creamy going on and blends really well. I prefer to use a concealer brush to apply it, as well as blend it. It's really moisturizing, too! I've had concealers that dried my skin out...yeuck. Yeah, it carries a hefty price tag, but you get what you pay for, amirite?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 | 2 | ...next |