chipsajoy
Reviews
6
Featured Reviews
0
Average Rating
4.2
Recommended
0%
Helpful Votes
21
Active Since
04.14.15
Last Review
04.29.19
04.29.19

Anastasia Beverly Hills DIPBROW™ Pomade Dark Brown

What it is:A smudge-free, waterproof pomade formula that performs as an all-in-one brow product. What it does:This creamy, multitasking product glides on skin and hair smoothly to create clean, defined brows. The standout formula works as a brow primer and provides color, sculpture, and shading. It is ideal for oily skin and in humid climates.
Eye Color:Brown
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Normal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the product but hardens way too fast in jar
-04.29.19
I love this product and how easy it is to use to define and fill in my eyebrows. However, I've found that no matter how quickly I close the jar after dipping my brush in it, the product hardens in the jar within couple of months. It would damage the brow brush and I'd end up throwing away 1/3 of unused product. Hopefully ABH can share tips on how to keep product fresh in the jar.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
07.16.16

Urban Decay De-Slick Oil-Control Makeup Setting Spray

What it is: A setting and finishing spray that keeps makeup looking just applied, delivers oil control, and deflects shine for a matte complexion that lasts. Ingredient Callouts: Free of phthalates. This product is also vegan and cruelty-free.What Else You Need to Know: Made with Urban Decay’s patented Temperature Control Technology, this oil-free, microfine mist lowers the temperature of your makeup to keep foundation, concealer, shadow, and blush from smudging, sliding, or fading.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Brown
Age:35-44
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Survived 90 degree heat + humidity in NYC
-07.16.16
Quick Take: oil-absorbing, reduces shine, sheer coverage
I used the original All Nighter setting spray before and thought I'd try the oil-control one since summer is here. I am very impressed by this product. I bought a travel size and used it while I was on a trip to NYC. By following the directions, I sprayed this on in the morning after I'm done with my makeup, then went out the entire day until 9pm/10pm. It was 90+ degrees plus humidity and my makeup did not melt/smudge! My face didn't become shiny/greasy. It did became a little "dewey" but everything looked natural. I didn't need to touch up my makeup at all. I highly recommend this spray.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
06.29.16
ORIGINAL the traceless hair ring

invisibobble ORIGINAL the traceless hair ring

What it is:A set of three revolutionary hair rings that put an end to all problems that come with tying up your hair. What it does:Featuring a unique telephone cord shape, this hair ring places uneven pressure around the circumference of the ponytail, allowing hair to be held strongly in the ponytail without feeling too tight or leaving a bothersome kink. It gives individual hairs more space within the ponytail and leads to a traceless result. Due to its smooth surface and spiral shape, people can easily avoid headaches and prevent split ends. What it is formulated WITHOUT: - Phthalates What else you need to know:Modern hairdos for any occasion can be easily and quickly done-with no need for hair clips or bobby pins. Created with artificial resin, the surface is also suited for those with allergies and neurodermatitis.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Hair Condition:Normal
Age:35-44
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broke after 1.5 month
-06.29.16
Quick Take: breaks easily does not shrink back to shape, expensive
These seem like a great concept, except they don't last. I bought a set during the first week of May and one ring broke mid-June with infrequent wear. They don't shrink back to shape, even though I put them in hot water after a day of use. Do not spend your money on these.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
06.16.16

Smashbox Always On Matte Liquid Lipstick

What it is: A liquid matte lipstick that’s water-resistant, feels weightless, and stays plush for up to eight hours. Ingredient Callouts: This product is cruelty-free.What Else You Need to Know: This liquid matte lipstick is infused with the Primer Oil Complex for a comfortable, non-drying feel. Create custom lip looks by layering metallics over mattes or blend multiple shades for an ombré effect.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Brown
Age:35-44
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you wear Invisalign, you need this lipstick
-06.16.16
Quick Take: creamy, long wearing, color doesn't transfer onto teeth
I started wearing Invsialign 2 months ago and haven't been able to wear any lip colors because they always transfer unto the aligners/braces, making my teeth look yucky. After seeing raving reviews about the Smashbox Always On Matte Liquid Lipstick and its staying power, I decided to give it a try. Boy am I happy I did! This is my first time using a liquid lipstick and these live up to the hype. The formula settles in comfortably on my lips without the feeling of drying or stickiness. The applicator tip made it really easy to line the lips before filling them in. And most importantly, there's no transfer of color from my lips to the aligners! I can finally wear lipsticks again and have a confident smile without worrying having red teeth! I got these in 4 different colors: In Demand, Babe Alert, Big Spender, and Bawse. All are gorgeous colors. I highly recommend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
05.09.16

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush Collection

What it is: A groundbreaking hybrid that combines the customized lighting effects of Ambient Lighting Powder or Strobe Powder with a spectrum of breathtakingly modern hues.What it does:While traditional blush tends to be flat, the Ambient® Lighting Blush Collection uses Photoluminescent Technology to exhibit depth and dimension with seamless blending. The handmade powders are formulated using an advanced miscelare technique-which means "to mix" in Italian-creating the perfect balance of pigment and powder. No two look alike.The Ambient® Lighting Blush Collection features airy, lightweight blushes to flatter a range of skin tones. Hourglass’s original collection of Ambient® Lighting Blush fuses universally flattering Ambient Lighting Powders with vivid cheek colors for soft-focus, multidimensional color with a naturally radiant finish. The new collection of Ambient Strobe Lighting Blush fuses the illuminating effects of Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder with modern color to brighten cheeks for glowing, lit-from-within color with a shimmer finish. What it is formulated WITHOUT:- Parabens- Sulfates- PhthalatesWhat else you need to know:The optically transparent particles alter the appearance of the skin by manipulating and refracting favorable light. The result is skin that looks smooth, even, and enhanced-not masked. The soft-focus technology helps to minimize the look of wrinkles and imperfections, neutralize discoloration, and emulate the appearance of young, healthy skin."Traditional blush can read as flat, and so I was inspired to create something that was far more seamless. The Ambient Lighting Blush Collection fuses two advanced formulas to create something entirely new. It’s unlike any other product on the market."-Carisa Janes, Hourglass Brand FounderHourglass products are 100 percent cruelty-free.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm hooked
-05.09.16
I've never been a big blush person until I got my hands on one of these. I now own Diffused Heat, Radiant Magenta, and Mood Exposure. They blend really well and look natural. They give me a healthy glow that's not overdone. I highly recommend them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
04.14.15

philosophy Amazing Grace Eau de Toilette

Fragrance Family: FloralScent Type: Powdery FloralsKey Notes: Lily of the Valley, MuskAbout: Embrace your beauty and express your femininity with Amazing Grace Eau de Toilette. Philosophy’s bestselling, amazingly clean, and beautifully feminine scent features notes of welcoming bergamot to greet the senses, irresistibly soft, clean muguet blossoms, and lasting musk with its classic beauty.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful scent, long lasting
-04.14.15
Quick Take: good value, travel-friendly
I normally wear Issey Miyake but wanted to have an inexpensive everyday scent that's more appropriate for the office. I searched around and found the Amazing Grace (LOVE the name!). I'm a little baffled by the reviews saying this doesn't have the staying power. I sprayed it on this morning at 8:30am (behind my ears and inner elbows). It's now 11:45am and I can still smell the fragrance lingering. I even dabbed my ears just now and could smell the scent on my fingers. This is such a lovely, feminine, clean, yet not overpowering/overwhelming/overly sweet smell. Love it! I'm saving Issey Miyake for weekends and special occasions and will be wearing the Amazing Grace everyday. Highly recommend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.