BeautyMaven8890
Reviews
6
Featured Reviews
0
Average Rating
4
Recommended
100%
Helpful Votes
14
Active Since
12.23.14
Last Review
04.22.19
04.22.19

Bobbi Brown Primer Plus Mattifier

Skin type:✔ Sensitive✔ Normal✔ Dry✔ Combination✔ OilyWhat it is: A lightweight face primer that extends the quality of foundation’s wear, controls oil, blurs pores, and helps balance skin’s moisture level.What it does: This product refreshes and smooths skin for makeup application, leaving a cool, breathable finish. Special powder technology absorbs oil and reduces the appearance of pores while sodium hyaluronate helps keep skin’s moisture level balanced.What it is formulated WITHOUT:- Parabens- Sulfates- PhthalatesWhat else you need to know: This product is also vegan and free of mineral oil.
Received Free Sample
Eye Color:Brown
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Oily
I received this product as a free sample:True
I am a Sephora employee:No
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Option for Oily Skin
-04.22.19
LOVE THIS!!! I have super oily skin and haven’t had a lot of luck with matte primers, even Becca matte primer paired with the matte foundation. This Bobbi Brown is a winner for me. I still get a little oil breakthrough but nothing like what I usually have. I can go through 6 blotting sheets a day.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
03.11.18
Ever-Matte Poreless Priming Perfector

BECCA Cosmetics Ever-Matte Poreless Priming Perfector

What it is: A targeted, oil-absorbing primer that mattifies skin, blurs the appearance of pores, and helps keep makeup perfected for up to 12 hours.Ingredient Callouts: Free of sulfates SLS and SLES and phthalates. This product is also vegan and cruelty-free.What Else You Need to Know: With targeted application in the morning, the Ever-Matte Poreless Priming Perfector helps keep oily skin at bay and minimize shine throughout the day. The silky, mattifying primer feels refreshing on contact while smoothing and blurring the look of skin. Before foundation, apply to areas where skin produces excess oil or press over makeup to mattify.
Eye Color:Brown
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Oily
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-03.11.18
This stuff is amazing! I have super, super oily skin but also dry skin under the oil. Go figure. You must moisturize and then warm the product between your fingers and pat it on for the best finish. If I pair this with the Becca Matte Foundation I have ZERO oil ALL DAY. Makeup goes on at 6am and I still look great at 9pm. If I use a regular foundation — Bobbi Brown Skin which is supposed to be slightly matte I’ll get oil breakthrough. But I may use that during the winter anyway. Love, love this product and a little goes a long way.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
02.23.18

Bobbi Brown Skin Long-Wear Weightless Foundation SPF 15 Warm Sand (W-036)

What it is: A long-wearing foundation with a buildable oil-free formula that delivers undetectable coverage, broad-spectrum UV protection, and a hydrated glow for a natural finish. Coverage: LightFinish: NaturalSPF: SPF 15Highlighted Ingredients: - GlycerinIngredient Callouts: Free of parabens, formaldehydes, phthalates, mineral oil, sulfates SLS & SLES, and triclosan. It is also gluten-free.What Else You Need to Know: Lightweight and water-based, Skin Foundation quickly helps plump, moisturize, and boost skin’s glow. Sustained hydration keeps skin looking and feeling fresh and ensures that color stays true all day. The oil-free formula is enhanced with light-reflective optic ingredients to give skin natural luminosity.
Eye Color:Brown
Skin Tone:Medium
Skin Type:Oily
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not for oily skin
-02.23.18
I wanted to love this foundation. It looks amazing for the first hour and then, hello oil city! I’ve had this for a week and my skin feels so gross at the end of my work day.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
08.21.17

Living Proof Perfect Hair Day In-Shower Styler

What it is: A first-of-its-kind styler—applied in the shower and lightly rinsed—to create air-dried styles with enhanced body, softness, natural texture, and shine. Hair Type: Straight and Wavy Hair Texture: Fine, Medium, and Thick Hair Concerns: Curl-Enhancing, Hold, and Shine Formulation: Cream Fragrance: Fresh Citrus and Fruits Highlighted Ingredients:- Patented Thickening Molecule (PBAE): Deposits thickening dots on hair fibers to create body and fullness. Ingredient Callouts: Free of parabens and silicone. This product is also cruelty-free. What Else You Need to Know: This styler leaves behind cationic resins after lightly rinsing that bind to hair and flex when dried to enhance natural texture. Living Proof’s patented thickening molecule (PBAE) deposits thickening dots on hair to create body and fullness. Magnetic texturizers enhance waves and a resin controls flyaways and adds shine. This product is an Allure Best of Beauty award winner.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works but expensive
-08.21.17
I took another reviewer's advice and left this in for a few minutes while I shaved and exfoliated. Worked way better than when I just had some sea salt spray and scrunch my hair after a shower. I have fine, slightly wavy hair. This gave me great definition with no crunchiness. But based on the amount you need to use this is too expensive to use everyday. I'm not going to return it but I'm not sure I'll buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
08.19.17

Hourglass Immaculate® Liquid Powder Foundation Mattifying Oil Free

What it is: A breakthrough liquid-to-powder foundation for acne-prone skin that absorbs oil and covers imperfections with a long-wearing, velvet-matte finish.Coverage: Full Finish: Matte Formulation: Liquid Skin Type: Combination and Oily Highlighted Ingredients: - Advanced Cashmere Kaolinite Clay: Works continuously throughout the day to control oil, while drawing out impurities to keep skin clear. - Phytostem Edelweiss: Provides antioxidants, smooths the look of skin, nourishes the complexion, and protects from free radicals.- Oxygenating Solvents: Deliver oxygen to the skin to help clear pores. Ingredient Callouts: Free of mineral oil, parabens, phthalates, and triclosan, and contains less than one percent of synthetic fragrances. This product is also vegan, cruelty-free, and gluten-free. What Else You Need to Know: “Immaculate was developed for those who want a matte finish without endless touch-ups. We surveyed some of our clients about it, and many testified that the appearance of their acne scars and breakouts had improved. It’s a lifesaver for women with oily skin.”—Carisa Janes, Hourglass Founder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Expenaive but works
-08.19.17
Tried this on recommendation from Sephora employee. It was a switch from Nars Glow foundation which I also highly recommend. My skin is super oily -- I can go through two blotting papers every couple of hours. This foundation made a HUGE difference. I had no issues with oxidation. I also use a really great hydration serum from Rodan Fields at night that helps balance my oil while keeping my skin hydrated, therefore no issues with drying like others had.
I'm still on the fence about this foundation though solely due to the cost. It doesn't seem like there is much product in the tube so I'm curious how long it will last. If it's only a month or two like I think then it's not worth it and I'll switch back to NARS.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
12.23.14
Sheer Matte Foundation

NARS Sheer Matte Foundation

What it is:A soft, matte finish foundation with sheer and buildable coverage.What it does: This Sheer Matte Foundation enhances, without masking, your overall natural complexion. The weightless formula absorbs oil and keeps skin shine free all day long. The complexion brightening properties improve skin brightness, radiance, and texture, leaving the complexion with a luminous, fresh finish.What else you need to know: Suitable for normal, normal-to-oily, oily, and very oily skins types. Research Results:- 100% say it helps control oil and shine during the day- 90% say it evens out skintone- 90% say it leaves skin feeling soft and smooth- 84% say skin looks brighter and more radiant
Location:Atlanta, GA
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Brown
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best foundation for oily skin ever!
-12.23.14
Quick Take: buildable coverage, long wearing, oil-free
The sales person recommended this to me when I was looking for a foundation that would keep my oily skin in check — the Urban Decay Naked Skin I was using held up all of 2 hours. I didn't have high hopes for this foundation — I couldn't believe that Nars would have a product with great performance. Well, let me tell you this foundation is amazing! It looks flawless on my skin, stays beautifully matte, but not in a dull way all day. I even gave it the ultimate test, sure that it would fail and wore it on the plane this morning. Normally, upon landing my skin feels and looks gross from all the recycled air. Today, it look and felt like I'd just applied the foundation.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.